+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Flippa fun with travel sites - for Flippa newbies

Moderator Kay is a Premium Member
    Blog Entries
    Thanks
    Thanked 3,342 Times in 2,133 Posts

Flippa fun with travel sites - for Flippa newbies

If you're an experienced buyer on Flippa, you might as well click away now and go and read something more interesting. However, this might be of interest for newbies who are looking for their first starter sites.

I'm a newbie who has never yet used Flippa, but I put on my cynical old sod hat and ventured forth. Here's how I got on.

First I went to the auctions which are ending soon. I immediately spotted a travel site which I quite fancied. It had a BIN of $199 and a then highest bid of $70. It looked like a nice site. It was created in May 2013 so there were no traffic or income claims. However, I did quite like the site build and thought that such a thing could be nice to incorporate into one of my existing travel sites. After all, how much would it cost me to replicate something similar? If I could get this one at, say, $100 or less that would be quite a bargain, wouldn't it?

Despite the fact that the end of the auction was imminent, I didn't rush into anything. After all, with this type of thing another similar one usually comes along soon. And sure enough several did. These things were being churned out by various sellers (or by someone pretending to be various sellers). At first I thought they were churning them out by using a template. Then it struck me that the sites had quite a 'white label' look to them. A quick check of the source code of the site revealed that this was indeed the case.

For those who don't know about white label affiliate marketing, all you have to do is to sign up as an affiliate of XYZTravelCompany, click a few buttons and now you've got your own fully automated travel website which offers bookings for hotel rooms, car, hire, flights, etc.

Easy money for the seller! Here's the recipe.