+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Can the .com and .co.uk be taken from me?

Trial Member
    Thanks

Can the .com and .co.uk be taken from me?

Hi, thank you for reading this.

Earlier this year I was reading an article about a new product, at that time and still today the name had not been confirmed. However there was and still is a lot of reports in the media that the product will be given a certain name. Earlier this year I bought manufacture+reported product name as .com and .co.uk purely because I thought it might be a low cost & low risk punt that might pay off (I have never done this before so I don't really know what sort of 'pay off' I was thinking about). I checked yesterday and all the other .org, .net, .de and some others have also been purchased. The manufacturer is a large global business with massive financial resources - everyone in the world will know them. The product is due to go on sale in 2016 and there has been no report on a date for when the name will be confirmed.

I also bought the .co.uk of the prototype name for the same product. My question is this - Could I be asked to hand them over by the manufacturer? I could argue that the name had not been confirmed but as I also bought the prototype name it will undermine me. I had thought that I use the domains on sites that could have paid adverts to people who sell this product.

Sorry but I do not want to offer up the name of the company involved.

Thank you.

Ian

Moderator Kay is a Premium Member
    Blog Entries
    Thanks
    Thanked 3,342 Times in 2,133 Posts
    It depends on the circumstances - not a very definitive answer, I know. Sorry.

I'm not a lawyer but from previous discussions about this issue, the main things you need to watch out for are trademark infringements and "passing off".