+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Cold calling, does not appear to be on the radar screen

Trial Member
    Thanks

Cold calling, does not appear to be on the radar screen

I'm a newbie so be gentle.

I've got two older websites that I'm developing an exit strategy for that my wife owns. I'm a retired entrepreneur and in the "old days" when I had to get rid of a business, we would go out hunting for a buyer . . . cold calling on likely buyers, either other business, or individuals.

So I came to this group thinking I might see lots of discussion about strategies for developing prospect lists etc. But it appears as though everybody is looking for buyers who are already webmasters or other industry professionals. It seems to me these folks are only interested in bargain hunting.

What about the Middle manager stuck in some corporate cubicle all day, who hates their job and has a fat 401K that they can tap into to buy some independence?

Moderator Kay is a Premium Member
    Blog Entries
    Thanks
    Thanked 3,342 Times in 2,133 Posts
    Once you have an idea of the value of what you've got on your hands, you can start looking for potential buyers plus you'll have a better idea of where to look for them.

I wouldn't say that cold calling is off the radar. It could be a very effective strategy in some ways but there would also be a lot of dangers involved - especially for someone who is new to selling. It's good to learn about creating your own exit strategy, and it sounds as though you have skills and experience in B&M businesses which will stand you in good stead in the online world too. But there are additional pitfalls involved in buying/selling an online business which you may not be aware of so tread carefully.