+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Press releases as a marketing tool

Marketing Mentor Mikl is a Premium Member
    Thanks

Press releases as a marketing tool

A frequent question on EP and other forums goes something like this: I've got a great new product / service / website, and I'd like to get it mentioned in the media. Would uploading a press release help with this? If so, how do I go about it?

The questioner is usually referring to one of the sites that let you upload your own press releases - either for free or for a fee - in the expectation that journalists will find them, resulting in useful coverage for your business in newspapers, magazines, blogs, journals and the like.

I've never used these services myself. But, as a former magazine journalist, I can tell you about my experiences on the receiving end.

Frankly, the idea of a journalist trawling a press release site to find something newsworthy is ludicrous. A professional journo will never go out of his or her way to look for releases, for the simple reason that they are already bombarded with releases from all directions. If I received a release from an established PR company, or from a source that I recognise, I might give it some attention. Otherwise I would probably discard it after only a cursory glance. What I would never do is to actually go out and look for press releases.

In addition, the majority of DIY releases are so badly written that they are a pain to read. If a release doesn't fully justify its existence in the opening paragraph, I wouldn't waste any more time on it. So that's another reason that home-brewed releases stand little chance of success.

I therefore believe that uploading to one of those services is a waste of time and money. But, as I said, I have no experience of using these sites. Maybe they do offer a useful service after all.