+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Etoro

Established Member
    Thanks

Etoro

Hi,
    I tried to get a thread started on this a couple of weeks ago but, stupidly, made a spelling mistake.

What I wanted to discuss is, has anyone here any experience with using Etoro?
    From what I can see it is a way for beginers to get some experience in Forex trading. Basically they can 'copy' experienced traders tips until such time as they have experience and confidence to go it alone.

There are a number of negative comments on forums regarding the lack of speed with which Etor handle payouts and some downtime issues. Like I say, I would be interested to hear if any of you guys and gals have tried thi and what your experiences where like.

Top Contributor
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,476 Times in 709 Posts
    I searched for Etor from your original OP, but found no results. I did find eToro.com, and it says: eToroUSA - Sorry, eToro is not available in your country yet.

Even though I have no experience with eToro, I am writing to suggest you avoid trading the forex market. Forex is not a liquid market and there are no international standards governing safe trading. You are better off trading futures if you want the liquidity and leverage.

The most accurate thread on EP regarding forex is titled Forex Systems. I concur with the points Magnus makes. Forex has no market makers, there is no best bid/best ask system in place, all brokers trade against their account holders (due to lack of a BB/BA marketplace), and the liquidity follows the sun (just like stocks, options, and futures). The illusion of forex being the largest market is due to interbank transfers, which is not trading (liquidity) and only simple current-rate exchange. If you're determined to trade forex, trade the currency ETFs.