+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: job site, monthly rev = $2K, BIN = $6K

  1. #1
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Essex, UK
    Posts
    6,590
    Blog Entries
    28
    Thanks
    2,640
    Thanked 1,675 Times in 984 Posts
    Rep Power
    85

    job site, monthly rev = $2K, BIN = $6K

    careerexcuse.com is advertised for sale.

    Apparently makes $2K per month with an hour or two's worth of work.

    Current bid is $5K with an asking BIN of $6K.

    PR3

    Standard Disclaimer: As usual, this is not a recommendation. Check the books and do your own valuation. As usual, I don't compete with you on any prospective buy I spot and bring to your attention.

  2. #2
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Co Louth, Ireland
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    2
    The site sells a service whereby you can get a fake reference from a "company" where you have never worked. Thus it helps their clients to be dishonest. When I see a sale listing for a dishonest business or website I wonder how trustworthy any figures they provide are.

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Essex, UK
    Posts
    6,590
    Blog Entries
    28
    Thanks
    2,640
    Thanked 1,675 Times in 984 Posts
    Rep Power
    85
    Agreed.

    For the purpose of this BSTE section I'm not making any moral judgements, I'll leave that to individuals buyers.

    But for my own portfolio I wouldn't personally touch something like this with a bargepole. What goes around comes around.

  4. #4
    Lapsed account
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi everybody,

    I am the owner of careerexcuse.com and if anybody has any inquiries, I will answer to the best of my ability and provide any information you request., or email me at <deleted>
    Last edited by Clinton; June 28th, 2010 at 01:38 PM. Reason: no email addresses please

  5. #5
    Account Closed
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    57
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    You shouldve told us about the unethical nature of the site prior to posting it and before someone else has to point this out to us.

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Essex, UK
    Posts
    6,590
    Blog Entries
    28
    Thanks
    2,640
    Thanked 1,675 Times in 984 Posts
    Rep Power
    85
    nEquity, you could take that up with him by email.

    worldlymrb, thanks for posting but how on earth did you spot this thread?

  7. #7
    Lapsed account
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Clinton View Post
    nEquity, you could take that up with him by email.

    worldlymrb, thanks for posting but how on earth did you spot this thread?
    I have google send me anything about careerexcuse.com that pops up on their S/E

  8. #8
    Account Closed
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    57
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Clinton View Post
    nEquity, you could take that up with him by email.

    worldlymrb, thanks for posting but how on earth did you spot this thread?
    Actually I meant you clinton.

    I think its important to make sure any listings that go up here are of quality, and not of a questionable nature. Its what this forum is supposed to be about, and after being scorne din the past, I feel those who preach should follow their own edicts.

    And dont read into that and get all defensive. I think its a fair comment to keep this section free of crap and only sites taht are clearly worthy

  9. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Essex, UK
    Posts
    6,590
    Blog Entries
    28
    Thanks
    2,640
    Thanked 1,675 Times in 984 Posts
    Rep Power
    85
    It's a fair comment in that you're stating that you'd like me to exert my moral preferences before flagging a site here.

    But such filtering would exclude a whole lot of sites that others might be interested in - from adult sites to ringtones to myspace templates to ambulance chasers to anything that's using blackhat SEO!

    I don't take any responsibility for quality. If I see what looks like a business that may be of interest to any member here then I'll flag it and it'll be up to individual members to decide if the site is for them or not. If I feel it's a scam - i.e. not a profitable business - then I'll post it in gotchas. And you the members can tell me if I got it right. I'm quite happy to move a thread from one section to the other if enough members drop in to say I got it wrong. No hard feelings, promise

    We've got one vote already. Give me 4 more and I'll move it.

    worldlymrb, ah, Google Alerts. OK.

  10. #10
    Top Contributor
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    1,352
    Thanks
    184
    Thanked 94 Times in 76 Posts
    Rep Power
    17
    Quote Originally Posted by nEquity View Post
    I think its important to make sure any listings that go up here are of quality, and not of a questionable nature.
    I understood that Clinton was posting sites "of interest", not sites that he'd done due diligence on for us to go ahead and buy. On each site for sale he does give disclaimers similar to:

    Quote Originally Posted by Clinton View Post
    Standard Disclaimer: As usual, this is not a recommendation. Check the books and do your own valuation.
    In performing some filtering at the front end, he's cutting out most of the leg work we have to suffer when sifting through the piles of crap we see on Flippa, DP etc.

+ Reply to Thread

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts