+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 8 12345678 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 79

Thread: LaunchPressRelease Co-Op Domain Aging? Matt Smith, seorulebook.com

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Account Closed
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0

    Thumbs down LaunchPressRelease Co-Op Domain Aging? Matt Smith, seorulebook.com

    Launch Press Release <-- i am in NO way advertising this business/scam, if link is not allowed, my apologies.

    I was searching the internet for some sort of income, as a newbie i spent some time reading and researching various avenues until i came accross website broker and read the pitch by this guy "matt smith". Sounded too good to be true and i should have stopped right there, but was eager and wanted to run before i could walk. I bought into this in Sept 2010. Paid my $495 (for my own domain & pre-built site) and recieved two client domain lists to purchase and upload for aging. 70 domains in all. After the initial 40/5 day period were the domains would be aged enough to be sold, and i would recieve my earnings after transferring the domains i'd purchased on his guidance to the client. Nothing, then first excuse... 3 months later and excuse after excuse after excuse and ignoring my messages. Finally, i was told you can have your initial fee returned ($495) as the client(s) had fallen through and not purchased the domains BUT he would get a new buyer late december if memory is correct, still nothing. I accepted re-payment on the $495, but thats not sorting out the problem that he advised me on the domains to buy and he didnt or couldnt get them sold. Im stuck with 70 domains that seem useless to me. My head is saying cut your losses and run with regards getting my $495 back, but im also out a few hundred dollars on the mixed lot of .com/.info domains he advised me to buy, coupled with my time he has wasted!! I have tried making contact again but received a postmaster notification failure on his email address, which means the email address dont exist anymore or i have in some way been blocked. Cant hold it against me for being suspicious. Im not going to let this be until i get some sort of closure. See below a link to a post made last year also with a similar problem to myself. I found this during the 3 months chasing this "matt smith" which could be his name or not!

    http://ca.answers.yahoo.com/question...4102033AAg4KCE

    My question, is anyone familiar with this business or had experience with this guy before?
    Last edited by Clinton; January 10th, 2011 at 7:47 PM. Reason: To add clarity

  2. #2
    Top Contributor
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,595
    Thanks
    70
    Thanked 277 Times in 199 Posts
    Rep Power
    24
    Marc, my only experience with this business was talking to the owner to verify some of the claims he made in his website for sale listings. Once I realized that he was basically trying to decieve people, I moved on.

  3. #3
    Account Closed
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Once bitten, twice as shy. I feel awful for being so stupid, just trying to make a few extra £££'s and was willing to invest and this is how it turns out. Gutted.

    Thanks for your responce Benitez.

  4. #4
    Top Contributor
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,595
    Thanks
    70
    Thanked 277 Times in 199 Posts
    Rep Power
    24
    Quote Originally Posted by Marc_L View Post
    Once bitten, twice as shy. I feel awful for being so stupid, just trying to make a few extra £££'s and was willing to invest and this is how it turns out. Gutted.

    Thanks for your responce Benitez.
    He had a nice initial sales pitch, but it was way too thin on the details for me. It does seem like a viable business model.

  5. #5
    Account Closed
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by benitez17 View Post
    He had a nice initial sales pitch, but it was way too thin on the details for me. It does seem like a viable business model.
    It probably did/does work but he seems to be the only one capitalizing on it ! The adsense part in the pitch is a shambles which i put down to my lack of "techie" knowledge at the time. With a little research the adsense code i included never earned me a penny on the domains that i had uploaded, dont get me wrong the domains seem to get plenty of hits from the looks on my control pannel. Are these real hits or not though , i just got more and more sceptical as time wore on. Look at how impressive the hits are from one day to the next, ive earned nothing from this investment to date, even though he boasted decent revenue from adsense alone, with the amount of hits generated.

    http://i52.tinypic.com/2ywe0yu.gif

  6. #6
    Established Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    NB, Canada
    Posts
    134
    Thanks
    128
    Thanked 46 Times in 26 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    Don't feel bad Marc_L. I almost took the bait on this too when Flippa first started. I could never quite get my head around his system so I passed. Like benitiez17 says his sales pitch is good. Probably a little too good.

  7. #7
    Account Closed
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by rmills View Post
    Don't feel bad Marc_L. I almost took the bait on this too when Flippa first started. I could never quite get my head around his system so I passed. Like benitiez17 says his sales pitch is good. Probably a little too good.
    Thanks rmills , getting the word out about is the only way to try and put a spanner in his works. He needs reporting, but where and whom to.
    Last edited by Clinton; August 22nd, 2012 at 6:07 AM.

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Essex, UK
    Posts
    7,291
    Blog Entries
    30
    Thanks
    3,908
    Thanked 2,651 Times in 1,502 Posts
    Rep Power
    101
    Status Fully Developed Website
    Visitors 140,000 (daily)
    Page Views 600,000 (daily)
    Number of Members: 5,000
    Income $4,200.00 per month
    Expenses $0.00 per month
    Asking Price $495.00
    Big flashing warning lights right there!

    His URL, seorulebook.com, is registered via a proxy/privacy service so he can stay in the shadows.

    If you can work out who and where he is, you can take up the matter with the local authorities. Till then you can lobby websitebroker.com to ban him. Explain that sellers like him are bringing disrepute to their service and point them to this thread.
    Show your support - Like us on Facebook

  9. #9
    Top Contributor
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,595
    Thanks
    70
    Thanked 277 Times in 199 Posts
    Rep Power
    24
    Quote Originally Posted by Clinton View Post
    Status Fully Developed Website
    Visitors 140,000 (daily)
    Page Views 600,000 (daily)
    Number of Members: 5,000
    Income $4,200.00 per month
    Expenses $0.00 per month
    Asking Price $495.00
    Of course, that's for the entire network. Some time ago, I went round and round with the owner of this network, where he would try to insist that each participant in the network could take full advantage of all of those pageviews but could never explain how it worked with dozens of members in the network (not to mention 5000), and that's when the alarms went off in my head.

    He used to peddle this crap on Sitepoint/Flippa, but I think he was banned because of his misleading listings, so he moved to websitebroker.com and other marketplaces.

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Essex, UK
    Posts
    7,291
    Blog Entries
    30
    Thanks
    3,908
    Thanked 2,651 Times in 1,502 Posts
    Rep Power
    101
    His other website, launchpressrelease.com, does have public details in WHOIS.

    Smith, Matt
    1111 Skyline Drive
    Johnson City, Tennessee 37604
    United States
    (423) 262-7681
    To find other places where he's advertising you can do a search for the phone number he published in his websitebroker listing: "310-903-6747". He is advertising on at least a couple of other website listing sites.

    A site:flippa.com "launch press release" seach in Google will give you several Flippa listings. There seem to be numerous user names in Flippa using the term "launch press release". Since it's a bit of a generic term, you may need to weed out a few to narrow down the user names in service that were pushing this particular business.
    Show your support - Like us on Facebook

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Matt Cutts on identifying the causes of a PR drop
    By benitez17 in forum General & Miscellaneous
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: September 16th, 2011, 4:16 AM
  2. Replies: 11
    Last Post: February 24th, 2011, 6:11 AM
  3. Matt Cutts & Daffodils
    By grynge in forum Foo - everything off-topic
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: November 14th, 2010, 12:21 PM
  4. Interview with Matt Mickiewicz (from Flippa.com)
    By kmander in forum Selling a Website, Blog, Domain or Business
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: September 9th, 2010, 2:36 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts