Hey Guys!
Have I got a story for you!
I spent about 4 hours researching this website because it indeed seemed too good to be true.
Here's the cliff notes:
Seller posts ad on craigslist for www.writearesume.net
2010-02-11_1029.jpg
Oddity #1: Seller posts in multiple cities across the entire country as well as on eBay - price varies from $8500 - $14000
Ebay Listing
ebay scam.jpg
Speak with seller - chats me up about how he needs money for his new website www.seniorjobs.net - says he can drop the price to $7500
I request proof of stats.
He sends me ONE YEAR's worth of paypal statements and webalizer stats for January.
Oddity #2 Paypal statements DO NOT SHOW business name or any other identifying information.
Seller claims the site gets about 100 uniques a day and makes 2-3 sales per day. All traffic comes from the keyword "write a resume" which makes the traffic highly targeted. Website is on page 2 of google and page 1 of yahoo.
Webalizer seems to support this and it seems logical. He even offers to install google analytics and add me as a user to verify the stats. (wow - this guy is good!)
I start to investigate - copyscape shows a TON of sites with duplicate content... exact clones of site.
Seller claims he sold "turnkey" versions of the site to people in the past.
Oddity #3: Investigation shows those "turnkey" sites have recently updated WHOIS information... like last month.
More investigation shows seller owns many sites in the resume niche (clones) all with the same WHOIS information.
Oddity #4: The payment gateway is different for various websites owned by seller - some are clickbank, some are google check out and some are paypal.
As I keep digging down I find almost the exact same ad placed on eBay, same income-claims but DIFFERENT URL: www.resumeadvice.org
http://www.findcheapauctions.com/ebay/300353017774.html
More investigation shows expired craigslist ads showing same exact business for sale, exact same monthly revenue, some ad but DIFFERENT URL.
craigslist.jpg
Ads are expired and from December.
I think to myself: "SCAM ALERT - SCAM ALERT - SCAM ALERT"
Well, now this is getting interesting... I figure I can't just stop now, so onward I go...
I called the WHOIS phone number on three of the sites I found that had recently changed owners:
I contacted two of them.
www.resume-format.net
Buyer #1: A restaurant owner from Texas, looking to invest into a new business. Paid $14,000 for the site, found from craigslist. Seller sent him about 3 YEARS worth of paypal income statements (just like me). Seller offered to use escrow.com but at the last minute "needed" money sent by check.
After about 10 days he made one sale ($19.95). Tried to call back seller, no response. The buyer still does get about 50-100 uniques a day and does get a few sales a month.
www.resume-objective.net
Buyer #2: A young guy with a computer consultant business looking to get into internet marketing. Paid $10,000 bank check via FedEx, found from craigslist.
Not making many sales, but does get about 100 uniques a day. Tried to contact seller, no response... just wrote it off as a "learning experience".
The general consensus from talking to these guys is that the paypal account that he shows documentation from is actually a collective account for several different resume type sites.
He in fact does make about $1100 from his entire network of websites and sells just the one.
Most people might feel that non-identifying documents are enough, obviously the previous buyers did.
My take away points:
The seller was very convincing and really only had to scam these buyers on one area - the income claims. He provided non-identifying documentation which seemed very thorough.
The sites he's selling actually do have age and traffic and he has owned them for a long time (as long as 2002) - a rarity for most scammers.
I would always recommend using escrow.com and use an inspection period of 7-14 days to verify income claims and traffic personally.
In the past I have been hesitant to ask for this because obviously it's inconvenient for the seller but this changed my perspective.
I'd also requesting screen capture proof using a free software called www.jingproject.com
What's scary about this is how excited I got about potentially buying a site for about 7 months income.
It was the same excitement that got these other buyers scammed out of $24,000.
So... whaddya think?



Reply With Quote





Bookmarks