+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: HIGH ALERT! My Scammer Radar is going crazy here!!!! This guy is GOOD!

  1. #1
    Established Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    230
    Thanks
    53
    Thanked 80 Times in 30 Posts
    Rep Power
    8

    HIGH ALERT! My Scammer Radar is going crazy here!!!! This guy is GOOD!

    I have a gut feeling about this site... it's not confirmed but I want to share with you my findings.

    This is either a great opportunity or this guy is a very good scammer.

    1. He's trying to sell a site that's making $3,500 a month for $20,000.

    2. He's trying really really hard to sell it. He has featured listing and multiple listings on almost every single site he could list it at:

    http://www.businesssellcanada.com/02322002.htm

    http://www.websitebroker.com/site-de...999970216.html

    http://www.businessmart.com/business...-york-new-york

    http://www.businessesforsale.com/Pro...-For-Sale.aspx

    (there are more but I think you get the point).

    3. The website owners address is in Russia (from whois)... yet listings say the business is based out of New York.

    4. He has a sale page that gives all the information you would need:
    http://www.ordersecureonline.net/info.html

    5. Lots of the proof is not very convincing... includes plenty of "non-identifying documentation", spreadsheets with useless information.

    6.He created an email address specifically for selling sites
    sellmysite @ gmail dot com

    7. He has multiple sites with high earning and low selling prices.

    8. There is no real sales page on the site - no way he's selling that much...

    9. The domain name looked like it was just dropped: http://web.archive.org/web/*/ordersecureonline.net Internet archives does not even show a cache for it's current version... only shows past sites.

    10. Domain name information was just updated:
    Created on: 16-Nov-05
    Expires on: 16-Nov-13
    Last Updated on: 19-Mar-10


    Okay guys, now it's your turn... whaddya think?

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Essex, UK
    Posts
    6,599
    Blog Entries
    28
    Thanks
    2,651
    Thanked 1,694 Times in 992 Posts
    Rep Power
    86
    Sometimes WHOIS updates happen even without change in ownership or other significant change in the website so I try not to go too much by that. The Wayback snapshots do raise suspicions. The 2008 copy is very different from what he has on the site now - even different products - could be a drop catch. If it is he's being very clever as the copyright notice says 2006-2010 giving the impression the site has been around as is for the last four years.

    He seems to sell via CB so should have CB records for proof of revenue. How far back do these go?

    When he created the sale listing he was a PR3 and predicted a PR5 at he next update. As it happens PR just updated and he hasn't done too badly - he has moved up to a 4. PR doesn't make a difference to anything but it does suggest he's been working on links.

  3. #3
    Lapsed account
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    any updates on this website for sale?

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    301
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 32 Times in 16 Posts
    Rep Power
    7
    Please! This is not worth it at all... Does it really need much investigation? You're not even buying rights to the software -- this is an affiliate site! YUCK. Stay away -- run away!

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    301
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 32 Times in 16 Posts
    Rep Power
    7

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Essex, UK
    Posts
    6,599
    Blog Entries
    28
    Thanks
    2,651
    Thanked 1,694 Times in 992 Posts
    Rep Power
    86
    Hi kss101, and welcome to experienced-people.net.

    I've just sent you a PM, please have a look at it.

    any updates on this website for sale?
    What was your interest? Were you looking to buy it?

  7. #7
    Lapsed account
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hello...I am looking to purchase a few websites that have been up and running a 3-5 years--instead of reinventing the wheel. New to forums and the web world. I appreiciate the feedback received here. Seems there are some scam websites for sale and I am learning how to dodge the bullits!

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    301
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 32 Times in 16 Posts
    Rep Power
    7
    Well, probably the most important thing in purchasing a website is finding one that fits your interests, skills, and knowledge... So, if you let us know what your interests are we can probably help! Just buying a website to buy a website is probably not the best plan.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    301
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 32 Times in 16 Posts
    Rep Power
    7
    Total scammer, and not even very good.

    And that all you are getting is a site design that sells an affiliate product. If I am correct in what I see, you are not even getting a PRODUCT. You are selling this guy's stuff http://cbhopadbuilder.com/spotlightP...t&v=2SQUARED04

    If you do this Google search you will see the trail...

    http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&s...=&oq=&gs_rfai=

    So, would you want to invest THOUSANDS in a website that focuses on a product you don't even control? It is ONE product, not even a slew where you could just replace one with the other. If the product fails, so do you. And, look at this...

    http://www.2-spyware.com/remove-privacycontrol.html

    http://www.spywareremove.com/removePrivacyControl.html

    http://www.emsisoft.de/en/malware/Ad...ol-remove.aspx

    http://www.lavasoft.com/mylavasoft/r...privacycontrol

    http://forums.malwarebytes.org/index...howtopic=41803

    So, basically you would be selling a VIRUS. Geesh!

  10. #10
    Lapsed account
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Thanks Christopheravell. My interests are fairly generic--like everyone else. I was in banking and financial sales for 17 years but not sure if I want to stay in that realm. I am used to working from home and thus thought owing a web business would be a good fit but as far as what type, I am still not sure. My skill level is beginner and not sure I want to become a programmer--I am more of a sales type person. Something fun, enjoyable and financially rewarding.

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 13
    Last Post: April 20th, 2012, 10:20 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts