+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Anyone tried dealasite.com, what are your opinions?

  1. #1
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Essex, UK
    Posts
    6,599
    Blog Entries
    28
    Thanks
    2,651
    Thanked 1,694 Times in 992 Posts
    Rep Power
    86

    Anyone tried dealasite.com, what are your opinions?

    Dealasite

    They seem to have a large-ish database of sites for sale. Have you used them before? What do you think of their site/their listings?

    (Headsup to catweasel who mentioned them in this thread)

  2. #2
    Established Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    235
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    5
    I like the way the data is displayed for each site, in the grid style...makes it easy to get a quick overview of what's on offer. Some weird feedback on the first bidder I looked at. Overall I don't get a good feeling/high level of confidence that the listings are legit and I wonder who is behind the business etc. The about page gave me zero confidence. It could be a great little marketplace though, I just haven't gotten to know it and determined whether most of the listings are actually serious or not.

  3. #3
    Established Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    230
    Thanks
    53
    Thanked 80 Times in 30 Posts
    Rep Power
    8
    It's on my list of sites I regularly check out... although, like most 2nd and 3rd tier sites there is a lot sifting involved. I haven't got any good leads off of it so far but I'm sure It'll turn up something.

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Essex, UK
    Posts
    6,599
    Blog Entries
    28
    Thanks
    2,651
    Thanked 1,694 Times in 992 Posts
    Rep Power
    86
    Quote Originally Posted by Michelle View Post
    Overall I don't get a good feeling/high level of confidence that the listings are legit
    Why's that Michelle?

    I know in the past I've gotten excited at finding a new listing website only to discover they had nothing original and it was just feeds from other listing sites. But you suspect that the listings themselves are not genuine?

  5. #5
    Established Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    271
    Thanks
    39
    Thanked 108 Times in 53 Posts
    Rep Power
    7
    Hi Clinton,

    Is the owner of the site on this forum?

    I'd love to speak to them about indexing their listings. At the moment all of our "other provider" listings are being crushed under the sheer volume of Flippa listings so a better balance would be useful.

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Essex, UK
    Posts
    6,599
    Blog Entries
    28
    Thanks
    2,651
    Thanked 1,694 Times in 992 Posts
    Rep Power
    86
    He's not here yet, as far as I know. Feel free to invite him over, someone. I'd like to see him here

  7. #7
    Top Contributor
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,638
    Thanks
    68
    Thanked 265 Times in 193 Posts
    Rep Power
    24
    Clinton, I came to the same conclusion as Michelle. There are a lot of listings that are clearly fake. For example, you can buy a PR8 site for just $400 here or a PR9 site for $7000 here (the PR claimed is not accurate). Also, there are auctions that are not scheduled to end until 2015. I don't know if it's just test data, or if there is no validation of the information submitted, but I am not going to waste my time sifting through that junk.

  8. #8
    Established Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    235
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by Clinton View Post
    Why's that Michelle?

    I know in the past I've gotten excited at finding a new listing website only to discover they had nothing original and it was just feeds from other listing sites. But you suspect that the listings themselves are not genuine?
    Weird comments left on users.
    Can't get sight (easily) of who is running the show.
    Overall look and feel of the site..it just doesn't say 'authority' to me.

    I haven't dug into too many of the listings though....I don't have time to 'get to know' all the marketplaces so I stick with what I know. Doesn't mean that there isn't a gem in there I just can't spend time 'working out' the trend and sussing out who is behind the business etc.

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Opinions on EMD .co.uk please
    By circa75 in forum General & Miscellaneous
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: October 1st, 2011, 07:00 AM
  2. Opinions On My Auction
    By tim1505 in forum FP Selling Websites
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: April 13th, 2011, 08:39 AM
  3. After your advice and opinions
    By JJ70 in forum Website 101
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: September 24th, 2010, 09:11 AM
  4. Opinions
    By Michelle in forum Buying A Website, Blog, Internet Business
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: March 3rd, 2010, 06:30 PM
  5. m.bz - your opinions?
    By Clinton in forum Due Diligence and Gotchas!
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: February 3rd, 2010, 01:51 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts