+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Why should or shouldn't you sell your business by auction?

Dormant Account
    Thanks

Why should or shouldn't you sell your business by auction?

Hi I'm a journalist writing an article about How to Sell a Business. I'm looking at both brick and mortar businesses and Web-based businesses. I will attribute any information I learn to this forum or Clinton Lee.

My Question:

Why would someone choose to auction their business as opposed to the conventional ways of selling the business by word of mouth or by broker, etc?

Dormant Account
    Thanks
    Because word of mouth can be an inefficient way of telling people your business is for sale? Word of mouth only works on that circle of mouths and ears. What if I want to reach further than that circle?

Welcome to the forums newgyrl

Have you had any experiences buying/selling websites or businesses?

Administrator Clinton is a Premium Member
    Blog Entries
    Thanks
    Thanked 3,005 Times in 1,673 Posts
    Hi newsgyrl, nice talking with you yesterday, thanks for getting in touch and welcome to experienced-people.net

There are advatages to using a good broker as some of them have a database of interested buyers. However, listing a business - whether B&M or online business - at places like businessesforsale.com exposes the opportunity to a wide range of prospective buyers. A larger number of buyers competing for a business translates into a better price for the seller.

There are other advantages. Brokers may charge 10% of the final sale price, business listing websites charge a flat rate of a hundred dollars or so. With business listing sites you can place your opportunity in a very specific industry categorisation and reach more "qualified" buyers - buyers who have an interest in that industry.