OK, here's what delta4 PMed me about. He did a bit of digging around and came up with opendesigncommunity.com which is an exact replica of my site and wanted to know if I was aware of it. It appeared that the seller used to have this domain redirecting to getfreewebsites.com and on selling getfreewebdesigns he put a copy of the site on this domain with the intention of running it as a parallel site and competing with what he just sold.
Thanks for doing it discretely via PM rather than in the thread, delta4.
First, well done on finding that, I don't believe anyone else did
Second, as it turns out, it's not the seller playing dirty. We were testing out implementing WP3.0 and he used that URL to test. To be fair, I didn't realise he was testing on a different domain till I got your PM. Anyway, it's offline now and it will 301 back to the main site in due course. This seller is an honest chap but you have identified one way in which a buyer can be scammed i.e. via the seller setting up a competing site using the same database.



Reply With Quote

Bookmarks